Gauteng Premier David Makhura announces his Executive Council

Local Government, Politics

Premier Makhura ends speculation and the waiting for the appointment of his Executive Council. His EC comprises of returning MEC’s but with different potfolios. He also included new members.

Makhura on his speech said “Since assuming office as Premier of Gauteng exactly a week ago and having clearly understood the new mandate given to the 6th Administration, I have given serious thought about the women and men who would constitute the new Executive Council”

In terms of section 132 of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, I have decided to constitute the Executive Council in the 6th Administration as follows:

Panyaza Lesufi: ​MEC for Finance and e-Government
Nomantu Nkomo-Ralehoko (Ms): MEC for Education
Faith Mazibuko (Ms): ​MEC for Community Safety
Lebogang Maile: ​MEC for Human Settlements, Urban Planning and COGTA
Thuliswa Nkabinde-Khawe (Ms): ​MEC for Social Development
Jacob Mamabolo: ​MEC for Public Transport and Road Infrastructure
Tasneem Motara (Ms): ​MEC for Infrastructure Development and Property Management
Dr Kgosientsho Ramokgopa: ​MEC for Economic Development,​Agriculture and Environment
Mbali Hlophe (Ms): ​MEC for Sport, Arts, Culture and Recreation
Dr Bandile Masuku: ​MEC for Health

This team collectively represents the ANC’s accumulated governance experience, new energy and fresh ideas required to fulfill the mandate of the 6th Administration, of Growing Gauteng Together.
These newly-appointed MECs will put the interest of the people first and meet the highest ethical and service delivery standards in the conduct of their work.

The Members of the Executive Council will be sworn-in on Thursday 30 May 2019 at Emoyeni Conference Centre.

At the Swearing-In Ceremony, he will address the media and further elaborate on what is expected from the team.

Leave a Reply